Combat Actions


  • DM

    In 3.5e there are 4 actions in a combat round.

    Free Action: Free actions consume a very small amount of time
    and effort, and over the span of the round, their impact is so minor
    that they are considered free. You can perform one or more free
    actions while taking another action normally. However, the DM
    puts reasonable limits on what you can really do for free. For in-
    stance, calling out to your friends for help, dropping an object, and
    ceasing to concentrate on a spell are all free actions.

    Move Action: A move action allows you to move your speed or
    perform an action that takes a similar amount of time. You can move
    your speed, climb one-quarter of your speed, draw or stow a weapon
    or other item, stand up, pick up an object, or perform some
    equivalent action (see Table 8–2: Actions in Combat).
    You can take a move action in place of a standard action. For in-
    stance, rather than moving your speed and attacking, you could
    stand up and move your speed (two move actions), put away a
    weapon and climb one-quarter of your speed (two move actions), or
    pick up an item and stow it in your backpack (two move actions).

    Standard Action: A standard action allows you to do something.
    The most common type of standard action is an attack—a single
    melee or ranged attack. Other common standard actions including
    casting a spell, concentrating to maintain an active spell, activating a
    magic item, and using a special ability. See Table 8–2: Actions in
    Combat for other standard actions.

    Full-Round Action: A full-round action consumes all your effort
    during a round. The only movement you can take during a full-
    round action is a 5-foot step before, during, or after the action. You
    can also perform free actions (see below) as your DM allows. The
    most common type of full-round action is a full attack, which allows
    you to make multiple melee or ranged attacks in a single round.
    Some full-round actions do not allow you to take a 5-foot step.
    Some full-round actions can be taken as standard actions, but only
    in situations when you are limited to performing only a standard
    action during your round (such as in a surprise round). The
    descriptions of specific actions, below, detail which actions allow
    this option.


  • DM

    I liked the 5e methodology of actions but have not really made a hard or fast rule on this since we switched back to 3.5e.


Log in to reply